Talib Kweli Prepares ‘Attack The Block’ Mixtape for August Release

Talib Kweli Prepares 'Attack The Block' Mixtape for August ReleaseTalib Kweli, over the weekend, somewhat-quietly announced that he’ll be slipping in a new mixtape before the release of his next album. His mixtape, which he’s called Attack The Block, is set to drop in the first week of August, although Kweli didn’t provide a specific date.

The Brooklyn MC took to his Twitter to divulge some details on the free release. “[Attack The Block] features Black Thought, Ryan Leslie, Rah Digga, Ab Soul, Jay Rock, Jae Millz, SkyZoo, John Forte, Fashawn, Maino & more!,” he wrote on Sunday.

Kweli also unveiled some of the producers that were involved in the project, listing E Jones, Symbolic1, Charlemagne, 9th Wonder, 88 Keys, and Oh No.

This mixtape is expected to lead up to the release of Kweli’s next LP, Prisoner of Conscious, which appears to have been delayed. No word at this time on an official release date for either that solo LP, or the sophomore release from Kweli and Yasiin Bey (formerly Mos Def)’s Black Star conglomerate — which Kweli has previously pinned down to drop sometime in 2012.

More details on the latest from Kweli as they emerge.

Get The Latest
More Album Releases